Forgiveness

In a moment, please close your eyes, take a few deep breaths and think of who has hurt you the most in your life. Let the very first person that comes to mind be the one you stay with. You can do this now. Just take a moment.

Now…. forgive them. From the deepest place in your heart, let go of all hurt, anger, resentment, desire for retribution or apologies… let go of it all and completely forgive them.

When we hold negative feelings for those who have injured us, it is as if we are drinking poison in hopes of somehow punishing them. We are continuing to harm ourselves, to create neurochemicals within our bodies that promote physical and emotional illness.

When we forgive, we are directly connecting with the Divine. We are drinking nectar that heals us. We are putting our highest self at the forefront and truly standing in Yoga.

Forgive someone else tomorrow. Then someone else the following day. Forgive yourself for holding resentments and for the harm you may have done others in your life. Practice forgiveness as often as you can and allow grace to unfold.

About Bhava Ram

Bhava Ram (bhavaram.com) is a former NBC Foreign Correspondent who healed from a broken back and diagnosis of terminal cancer through the sciences of Yoga and Ayurveda. His memoir, Warrior Pose, How Yoga Literally Saved My Life, details this healing journey and is scheduled to be a feature film in 2016. Bhava is the co-founder of the Deep Yoga School of Healing Arts (deepyoga.com) and is an author, teacher, lecturer, musician and spiritual counselor. He and his wife, Laura Plumb, lead trainings and retreats in California, Europe and India.
This entry was posted in Transform, Yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Forgiveness

  1. earthchild says:

    I’m dealing with trying to forgive a person who is a very high spiritual person. She is an herbalist and a yoga instructor, but in our relationship, every time I go to her in life, something bad befalls me.

    The last time I went to her for a place to stay. Our home had been forclosed on, and she had the good karma to marry into a 14 acre farm. She had pleanty of room and was even hosting some woofers. But because I was releasing a lot of energy, talking on the phone to friends and venting emotion, her husband asked me to leave.

    In her defense, she wanted me to stay, but she also stood by his side and backed him up. I ended up sleeping in my car and a tent for two months with my 10 year old son.

    Thankfully, someone outside the holistic/yoga community ( a community I feel is my true place) helped my son and I get a home.

    It seemed then and still seems so wrong for people touting consciousness, community, and yoga to leave a “friend” out in the cold like that. She didn’t even call me to check up and see how I was doing.

    Every time I think about forgiving her for not even caring enough to check up I think how stupid I am being. Forgiveness just feels wrong, like opening the door to someone who will hurt you all over again. Or letting them off the hook so that they will never see that what they did was wrong.

    I imagine when she learns more about what it is to be a friend to someone else or to care more for someone than herself, I will be able to forgive her. For now, I feel like she does not deserve it, and to forgive her to heal myself is not where my heart is at.

    Sometimes, I think, forgiveness is the wrong thing to do, especially if it leaves you vulnerable to getting hurt again.

    • Bhava Ram says:

      Namaste Dear One,

      Thank you for having the courage to share. I feel deep compassion and your feelings are very legitimate. What I would offer for your contemplation is that when we hold onto a hurt, no matter how valid that hurt might be, it only continues to hurt us. The person you write about will either come to a deeper sense of awareness at some point, or they might not. Continuing to harbor your pain will not prompt or assist them in their journey. Forgiveness allows YOU to release the emotion of the experience and to HEAL.

      Blessings Always, Bhava

      • earthchild says:

        Thank You, Bhava.

        I feel forgiveness is a deep and very long process. I know that each time I cry out about this person I release the wrong done, learn more about how to forgive, and slowly, slowly, but surely walk away from it and let all our souls fly.

        I guess sometimes we can forgive quickly, and sometimes we just have to ease into it lest it feels like the wound is fresh.

        When the upset turns to sadness,
        and then the sadness turns to forfeiture,
        then to a lesson,
        and then on to forgiveness.

        Om Shanti
        The mystery of God

Leave a comment